powered by

St. Sebald Church

St. Sebald Church

Nuremberg's oldest city parish church was built around 1215 as a three-aisled late Romanesque pillared basilica with two choirs. As early as 1309 the original side aisles were widened and altered in the Gothic style. The church - as well as many other buildings in the historic city center of Nuremberg - was destroyed during World War II. St. Sebald was reconstructed in 1957 and reconsecrated. The reliquary shrine (ca. 1397) in the tomb cast in bronze by Peter Vischer and his sons (1508-1519) is prominently located in the interior of the church. The bones of Nuremberg patron saint Sebaldus are presumed to rest in the silver embossed “casket”.

St. Sebald Church
(Lutheran)
Albrecht-Dürer-Platz 1
90403 Nuremberg
Tel: +49 (0)911 2142500
Website

 

Opening hours:

January to March:
daily 9.30 am - 04.00 pm

April to December:
daily 9.30 am - 06.00 pm 

Discover the Christkindlesmarkt

Food and Walking Tour of the Christkindlesmarkt

Master Merchants of Nuremberg

Original Regional - Delicious Local Treats

"A Crown - Power - History: Nuremberg at A Glance"